Group Management Team

Eero Hautaniemi, b. 1965
M. Sc. (Econ.)
President and CEO

Mr. Hautaniemi has been President and CEO of Oriola Corporation since the establishment in 2006. Mr Hautaniemi served as President of GE Healthcare Finland Oy during 2004–2005, and as General Manager and Vice President of Oximetry, Supplies and Accessories business area of GE Healthcare IT in 2003–2004. Before this Mr. Hautaniemi held different positions in financial and business management in Instrumentarium Corporation in Finland and in the United States.

Mr. Hautaniemi is a member of the Board of Directors of Posti Group Corporation. He is also a member of the Board of Finnish Commerce, Regional Director for the EMEA region of IFPW’s (International Federation of Pharmaceutical Wholesalers) Board, a member of the GIRP Management Board and GIRP Treasurer (GIRP= The European Association of Pharmaceutical Full-line Wholesalers).

Sari Aitokallio, b. 1960
Master of Laws

Sari Aitokallio was appointed Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of Oriola-KD Corporation on 16 July 2015.

Sari Aitokallio was appointed as interim CFO of Oriola-KD Corporation and member of Oriola-KD Group's Management Team as of 9 April 2015. Ms. Aitokallio holds strong experience from financial management positions in Finnish listed companies. Previously Ms. Aitokallio has worked for Metso Automation as division SVP Finance and administration since 2007. Earlier experience includes several positions in Valmet and Metso Groups, both in Finland and abroad. Furthermore Ms. Aitokallio worked for Sponda Group in 2002-2006 as CFO.

Thomas Gawell, b. 1963
M.Sc. (Econ.)
Vice President, Healthcare Business
Managing Director of Oriola AB

Mr. Thomas Gawell was appointed Vice President of Oriola-KD’s Healthcare Business as of 1 January, 2016. Mr. Gawell served as Vice President of Oriola-KD’s Pharmaceutical Wholesale business in Sweden and Managing Director of Oriola AB in 2009-2015. Before that, Gawell held the position of Financial Manager of Oriola AB since 2001, and before joining Oriola AB Gawell held several Financial Management positions for over 10 years.

Jukka Mäkelä, b. 1963
M. Sc.
Vice President, Development and Information Management

Mr. Mäkelä was appointed Vice President, Development of Oriola-KD Corporation in April 2013.
Before joining Oriola-KD, Mr. Mäkelä worked for Aedi Oy as partner and CEO. Before that Mr. Mäkelä worked for Accenture during 1990-2011 as a consultant and Business Unit Executive Director (partner) responsible for Retail & Wholesale and Manufacturing Industries.

Teija Silver, b. 1964
M.Sc. (Econ)
Vice President, Human Resources

Ms. Teija Silver was appointed Vice President, Human Resources of Oriola-KD Corporation in October 2006. She joined Oriola-KD from GE Healthcare Finland where she held the position of Director, Human Resources. Before that she served in Nokia Networks as Director and Manager, Human Resources.

Kimmo Virtanen, b. 1968
M. Sc. (Econ.)
Executive Vice President, Services Business
Managing Director of Oriola Oy
Deputy to CEO of Oriola-KD Corporation

Mr. Virtanen was appointed Executive Vice President of Oriola-KD's Services Business as of January 1, 2016. Mr. Virtanen served as Executive Vice President of Oriola-KD’s  Pharmaceutical Wholesale businesses in Finland, Sweden and the Baltic Countries in 2012-2015 and as CFO of Oriola-KD Corporation in 2006-2012. Previously Mr. Virtanen served as CFO of Componenta Corporation in 2003-2006, CFO of Danisco Sweeteners in the UK and Finland in 1999-2003 and held several management positions of Cultor Corporation in 1995-1999.

The members of the Group Management Team are nominated by The Board of Directors. The Group Management Team convenes regularly to address matters concerning the entire Group. The Group Management Team is not a decision-making body. It assists the President and CEO in the implementation of Group strategy and in operational management, and facilitates the Group-wide distribution of information concerning the entire Group.

Oriola's Group Management Team's responsibilities as of 1 April 2017:

  • Eero Hautaniemi, President and CEO
  • Sari Aitokallio, CFO
  • Thomas Gawell, Vice President, Healthcare Business
  • Jukka Mäkelä, Vice President, Development
  • Teija Silver, Vice President, HR
  • Kimmo Virtanen, Executive Vice President, Services Business

Further information on the remuneration of the members of the Group Management Team can be found in the Remuneration Statement and in the Financial Statement.